Brown Brogues – Split Disc

As anyone who has witnessed the mighty Brown Brogues live will attest to…. they are pretty hard to ignore. The two-piece consisting of Mark Vernon (guitar) and Ben Mather (drums) bury addictive singalongs into raw unadulterated garage fuzz. A huge part of Manchester’s thriving DIY community, it’s beginning to feel like we can no longer contain them.

New album Triflin’ (Stream here) is an evolution of their sound. More defined, more measured in its approach but still exuberant, full of distortion. Lead single Split Disc is a perfect example with a dirty, delirious expanse that’s both comforting and disorienting. Brown Brogues might punch you in the stomach but they’ll do it with a smile.

Pre-Order Triflin’

Brown Brogues have announced the following shows:


5 Bristol Stag and Hounds
10 Newcastle Brew Dog
11 Stockton The Green Room
12 Edinburgh Henrys
17 Liverpool Sound
18 Sheffield The Bowery (Free Show)
19 Birmingham Secret Greasy Location
23 Manchester The Castle Hotel
24 London The Lock Tavern (Free Show)
25 Bath The Royal Oak
26 Plymouth Tiki Bar and Grill


8 Southampton Lennons

Phill Young